Mark Twain Elementary PTSA

The Book Fair is Coming!

School is in session which means Book Fair is just around the corner! Each year during conference week (October 15-18), Twain PTSA holds an annual volunteer-run Scholastic Book Fair with 50% of profits going directly to our school library!  

We raised over $8000 to spend on books for our school last year! Let’s see if we can bring in even more this year!

We are looking for volunteers to help set-up, work during the sale and pack up when it is all over. ?The commitment is small, with shifts lasting only one or two hours, and no prior experience necessary!

If you'd like to learn more or volunteer, please email Cathy Schwartz or Heather Buchholz


Ice Cream Social and International Game Night
Ice Cream Social and International Game Night

Twain PTSA is excited to invite you for an evening of ICE CREAM and GAMES from around the world. Come with your entire family and get to know your community while playing board games, soccer, and cricket.  

**Please note, this is a family fun event; this is not a drop off event. Thank you!** 


Friday, Sept. 28, Twain Commons and Playground
6 - 6:30 Ice Cream
6:30 - 8 Int'l Games 

We are looking for families to help and participate in the following ways: 

Ice Cream Social & Intl Game Night Sign-up

  • Bring a board game from your country of origin to teach and share; 

  • Lead soccer or cricket; 

  • Set up or clean up; 

  • Come and enjoy!  

PTSA Fall 2018 After School Programs

Registration will open on Friday, September 14

Jump Rope Club


Have fun learning jump rope tricks and games with instructors from local jump rope team, Hot Dog USA! 

Jumpers of all ages and ability are welcome. This is an extremely popular class that fills up quickly.

Grades: K-5 

Dates: Fall Session Mondays, September 24, 2018 - November 28, 2018  - excluding 10/15/18

Time: 3:30-5:00 

Location: Gymnasium 

Cost: Fall Session $100  (includes jump rope to take home) 

Contact: ASP Coordinator






Mark Twain PTSA is teaming up with Chess4Life to offer a fun and instructional chess club!  

Classes are tailored to the skill-level of the students. In addition to learning the basic rules of chess, our classes include lessons on fundamental opening principles, middlegame tactics and strategy, as well as basic endgame technique. Coaches also work with students in other areas like visualization, preparing for tournament competition, board habits, and much more. 

Grades K-5 

Dates: Fall Session -  Tuesdays, September 25, 2018 - November 20, 2018 excluding 10/16 (8-week Session)

Time: 3:30-4:30 

Location: Cafeteria 

Cost: Fall Cost  $144.00

Contact: ASP Coordinator





Mark Twain PTSA is teaming up with Play-Well TEKnologies to offer LEGO club.  

Pre-Engineering using LEGO K-2 

Let your imagination run wild with then of thousands of LEGO! Build engineer-designed projects such as boats, bridges, mazes and motorized cars, and use special pieces to create your own unique design! Explore the endless creative possibilities of the LEGO building system with the guidance of and experienced Play-Well instructor.  This is an ideal way to prepare young builders for the challenge of EngineeringFUNdamentals.  

Engineering FUNdamentals using LEGO 3-5  

Power up your engineering skills with Play-Well TEKnologies and tens of thousands of LEGO! Apply real-world concepts in physics, engineering, and architecture through engineer-designed projects such as arch bridges, skyscrapers, motorized cars, and the Battletrack! Design and build as never before, and explore your craziest ideas in a supportive environment.  Instructors with challenge new and returning students to engineer at the next level.  

Grades: K-2 and 3-5  

Dates: Fall Session  - Thursdays, September 27, 2018 - November 29, 2018  excluding 10/18/18 and 11/22/18

Time: 3:30-5:00  

Locaton: Cafeteria  

Cost: Fall Session $149 

Contact: ASP Coordinator







Reflections Enrollment is Now Open!

The Reflections Program is a National PTA and Washington State PTA cultural arts competition.

The purpose of this program is to provide an opportunity for students to use their creative talents by expressing themselves through their own original works.

Young artists get involved through their local PTA or PTSA. A student may submit an entry in any of six arts areas. Only original works of art are accepted. The six art areas are: Visual Arts Photography, Literature, Music Composition, Dance Choreography, and Film Production.

Click here for the entry form.

View this video for more information.

Save Your Box Tops!

Help earn money for our school with Box Tops!  Our goal this year is $1000.  Costco has several items available too!  Some of those are perfect for classroom snacks and supplies!  Don't forget to clip! 

Questions? Please contact: Kari Brown

View all
New: Buy a Membership Package!

Please note: All PTSA memberships will still come with a school directory.

Twain PTSA membership information 2018-2019
  Who are we? Mark Twain PTSA (Parent Teacher Student Association) is a non-profit organization dedicated to improving the education and well-being of all children at home, school, and in the community.   Why get involved? Parent and community involvement leads to great schools and exceptional students! By getting involved, you can help direct PTSA goals and share what is important to you as a parent. You will show your child that you value their education You will show your student the importance of volunteering and giving back to the community   Who can join? Everyone who cares about our ... read full article

View all